View Now

Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award Watch List

At a glance: 

  • Award to be presented to the most outstanding college football player of Polynesian Ancestry.
  • The 2016 Watch List is composed of 38 players from 24 different FBS schools.
  • The Pac-12 Conference led all conferences with 16 players, followed by the Mountain West (6), Big 12 (2), Sun Belt (2), ACC (1), American Athletic (1), Big 10 (1), Conference USA (1), Mid-American (1), SEC (1), and Independents (6).

Honolulu, HI (July 27, 2016) – The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today the 2016 Watch List for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award.  This award is presented annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity.  Former University of Oregon, and current Tennessee Titans Quarterback, Marcus Mariota was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2014 and former University of Notre Dame, and current Baltimore Ravens Offensive Lineman, Ronnie Stanley received last year’s honor.

The winner of the 2016 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on December 7, 2016.  Five finalists will be unveiled on November 22.  The formal presentation of the award will be held at the Celebration Dinner during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend on January 20, 2017.

“It is remarkable that the first two recipients of the Award were selected in the top six picks overall in the NFL Draft (#2 Marcus Mariota, 2015 and #6 Ronnie Stanley, 2016),” said Jesse Sapolu, Chairman & Co-Founder. “This award allows us to showcase the tremendous impact that our Polynesian student-athletes are having on the game of football.”

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2016-2017 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which includes Coaches Dick Tomey (Chairman), LaVell EdwardsRon McBride and Dick Vermeil, past NFLPA President and Inaugural Inductee Kevin Mawae, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, NFL player personnel legend Gil Brandt and Honolulu Sportscaster Robert Kekaula.




First Name Last Name School Position  Class
Ricky Ali'ifua Utah State DL Senior
Isaac Asiata Utah OL Senior
Asotui Eli Hawai'i Center Soph
Salesa Faraimo Nevada DL Senior
Breiden Fehoko Texas Tech DL Soph
Salamo Fiso Arizona State LB Senior
Randall Goforth UCLA DB Soph
Cole Hikutini Louisville TE Senior
Nate Iese UCLA TE/FB Senior
Canton Kaumatule Oregon DL Soph
Steven Lakalaka Hawai'i RB Senior
Harvey Langi BYU LB Senior
Inoke Langi Texas State TE/LS  Soph
Tueni Lupeamanu Idaho DL Senior
Ului Lapuaho BYU OL Junior
Darrin Laufasa UTEP FB Senior
Sefo Liufau Colorado QB Senior
Toa Lobendahn USC OL Junior
Tau Lotulelei UNLV LB Senior
Lowell Lotulelei Utah DT Junior
Shalom Luani Washington State Safety Senior
Damien Mama USC OL Junior
Brandon Manosalvas Buffalo OL Junior
Hercules Mata'afa Washington State DE Soph
Christian  Matau East Carolina OL Junior
David Moa Boise State DL Soph
Viliami Moeakiola Arizona State LB Senior
Kai Nacua BYU DB Senior
Butch Pau`u BYU LB Soph
Olive Sagapolu Wisconsin DT Soph
Dru Samia Oklahoma OL Soph
JuJu Smith-Schuster USC WR Junior
Anu Solomon Arizona QB Junior
Logan Taele BYU DL Senior
Sunia Tauteoli Utah LB Junior
Christian  Tago San Jose State LB Senior
Pita Taumoepenu Utah DE Senior
Sae Tautu BYU DL Senior
Jahlani Tavai Hawai'i LB Soph
Maea Teuhema LSU OL Soph
Travis Tuiloma BYU DL Senior
Josh Tupou Colorado DL Senior
Vita Vea Washington DL Soph
Psalm Wooching Washington LB Senior