View Now

2019 Polynesian College Football Player Of The Year Award Watch List

Honolulu, HI (August 6, 2019) – The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today the 2019 Watch List for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity. The Watch List is composed of 62 players from 32 different FBS schools.

Former University of Oregon, and current Tennessee Titans Quarterback, Marcus Mariota was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2014; former University of Notre Dame, and current Baltimore Ravens Offensive Lineman, Ronnie Stanley received the award in 2015; former University of Colorado Quarterback Sefo Liufau received the award in 2016; former Washington State, current Minnesota Vikings Defensive End Hercules Mata`afa received the award in 2017; and University of Alabama Quarterback Tua Tagovailoa received the award last year.

“The Polynesian College Football Player of the Year award showcases the immense talent of our Polynesian student-athletes in college football today,” said Jesse Sapolu, Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman, Co-Founder and Inductee. “The award has quickly become one of the most prestigious in all of college football.”

The winner of the 2019 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on December 17. Five finalists will be unveiled on December 5. The presentation of the Award will be held during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Celebration Dinner (January 17, 2021) at the Sheraton Waikiki and they will also be recognized at halftime of the Polynesian Bowl (January 18, 2021) at Aloha Stadium.

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2019 season progresses. The finalists and winner will be chosen by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee which includes Coaches Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Jack "The Throwin' Samoan" Thompson (Chairman), former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Olin Kreutz, Inaugural Inductee and past NFLPA president Kevin Mawae, former NFL Player and Class of 2015 Inductee Ray Schoenke, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, NFL Network commentator Steve Wyche, and Honolulu Sportscaster Robert Kekaula.



Presented by the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel






Bradlee Anae Utah DL Senior
Junior Angilau Texas OL Freshman
Sione Asi Oklahoma State DL Junior
Devin Asiasi UCLA TE Junior
Julian Blackmon Utah DB Senior
AJ Epenesa Iowa DL Junior
Austin Faoliu Oregon DL Junior
Lorenzo Fauatea BYU DL Soph
Breiden Fehoko LSU DE Senior
Simi Fehoko Stanford WR Soph
TJ Fialoa ULM OL Junior
Mosese Fifita Air Force DL Senior
Leki Fotu Utah DL Senior
Dayton Furuta Hawaii RB Senior
Kavika Fonua BYU LB Junior
Tipa Galeai Utah State DL Senior
Palaie  Gaoteote USC LB Soph
Alohi Gilman Notre Dame DB Junior
Aleva Hifo BYU WR Senior
Anthony Hines Texas A&M LB Soph
Talanoa  Hufanga USC DB Soph
George Holani Boise State RB Freshman
Jordan Iosefa USC LB Senior
Kekaula Kaniho Boise State DB Junior
Isaiah Kaufusi BYU LB Junior
Donovan Laie Arizona OL Soph
Moroni Laulu-Putuau BYU TE Senior
Gus Lavaka Oregon State OL Senior
Kohl Levao Hawaii OL Senior
Fua Leilua Utah State DL Senior
Ray Lima Iowa State DL Senior
Jermayne Lole Arizona State DL Soph
Sonatane Lui Boise State DL Senior
Tyson Maeva Florida International LB Senior
Vavae Malepeai USC RB Junior
Cassh Maluia Wyoming LB Senior
Solomon Matautia Hawaii LB Senior
Frederick Mauigoa Washington State OL Senior
David Moa Boise State DT Senior
Viane Moala Utah DL Junior
Sosaia Mose North Texas C Senior
Manase Mose North Texas OL Soph
Netane Muti Fresno State OL Junior
Kekoa Nawahine Boise State DB Senior
Kanawai Noa Nebraska WR Senior
Kaimana Padello Hawaii DL Junior
Darrin Paulo Utah OL Senior
Penei Pavihi Hawaii LB Junior
John Penisini Utah DL Senior
Brandon Pili USC DL Junior
Justin Polu UNLV OL Senior
Benning Potoa'e Washington DL Senior
Merlin Robertson Arizona State LB Soph
Jalen Sami Colorado DL Freshman
Gabriel Sewell Nevada LB Senior
Penei Sewell Oregon OL Soph
Mika Tafua Utah DL Soph
Boss Tagaloa UCLA OL Senior
Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa Notre Dame DL Junior
Tua Tagovailoa Alabama QB Junior
Toa Taua Nevada RB Soph
Noah Togiai Oregon State TE Senior
Khyiris Tonga BYU DL Junior
Henry To`o To`o Tennessee LB Freshman
Andru Tovi Kansas OL Senior
Jay Tufele USC DL Soph
Marlon Tuipulotu USC DL Soph
Samuela Tuihalamaka Oklahoma State DL Freshman
Kolo Uasike UNLV DL Soph
Christopher Unga Utah State LB Senior
Solo Vaipulu Hawaii OL Soph


About the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame: The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center (O`ahu) and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma`a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno Mahe.

About the Polynesian Bowl: The Polynesian Bowl is held annually during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week and is televised LIVE on CBS Sports Network. Major sponsors include BodyArmor, CrossCountry Mortgage, Friends of Hawai’i Charities, Hawaiian Airlines, Hawaii Building & Construction Trades Council, Hawai’i News Now, Hawai’i Tourism Authority, Motiv8 Foundation, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and Riddell.