View Now



HONOLULU, HI (October 20, 2022) – The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame has announced eight Finalists that will be on the ballot for induction into the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023. 

The Finalists were selected from a field of over 100 nominees by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee which includes former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Jack Thompson (Chairman), Coaches Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, past NFL player and Inaugural Inductee Olin Kreutz, past NFLPA President and Inaugural Inductee Kevin Mawae, former NFL Player and Class of 2015 Inductee Ray Schoenke, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, and NFL Network writer and commentator Steve Wyche

“We commend our Selection Committee on once again putting together a fantastic group of potential inductees for the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023,” said Jack Thompson, Selection Committee Chairman. 

The Selection Committee and all living Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Inductees will vote in the coming weeks to select the individuals who will be inducted as the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023.  

“We congratulate the Class of 2023 Finalists and look forward to welcoming three of these legends into the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame,” said Jesse Sapolu, Chairman and Co-Founder. “Each Finalist is an inspiration within the Polynesian community.” 

Three inductees will be announced on November 1, 2022.  


■     Manti Te`o (LB) Notre Dame; Pro NFL (SAN, NO, CHI) 8 years, Samoan ancestry

■     Kalani Sitake (Coach) BYU; 7 years, Tongan ancestry

■     Rey Maualuga (LB) USC; Pro NFL (CIN, MIA) 9 years, Samoan ancestry

■     Chris Kemoeatu (G) Utah; Pro NFL (PIT) 7 years, Tongan ancestry

■     Tony Banks (QB) Michigan State; Pro NFL (STL, BAL, DAL, WAS, HOU) 10 years, Samoan ancestry

■     Harry Montague-Field (OL) Hawai`i, Oregon State; Pro NFL (CHI) AFL (LA) 4 years, Was the first player of Polynesian Ancestry to play in the NFL. Hawaiian ancestry

■     Larry Warford (G) Kentucky; Pro NFL (DET, NO) 7 years, Samoan ancestry

■     Dr. Edison Miyawaki (Contributor) Established an NFL training camp for Hawai`i athletes aspiring to play professional football. Part owner of the Cincinnati Bengals. 

About the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame: The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches, and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma’a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno Mahe.  

About the Polynesian Bowl: The Polynesian Bowl is a premier all-star game played annually in Honolulu, Hawai`i that features 100 of the nation’s top ranked high school seniors of Polynesian and non-Polynesian ancestry alike – many of whom have gone on to play in the NFL. The game has become the most sought-after all-star football invitation – a rapid rise from its inaugural game in 2017. This past January, top ranked 2022 player Travis Hunter participated in the game and was named Offensive MVP. The game will be broadcast live and in primetime on NFL Network. Major partners include Microsoft Surface Pro, adidas, BodyArmor, Riddell, CrossCountry Mortgage, Friends of Hawai`i Charities, Hawaiian Airlines, HBCTC, Hawai`i News Now and World Wide Safety. For more information, go to