View Now



Honolulu, HI (January 11, 2024) – The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today that Miami Dolphins Quarterback, Tua Tagovailoa has been selected as the 2023 recipient of the Polynesian Pro Football Player of the Year Award presented by Hawaiian Airlines.

Tagovailoa, of Samoan descent, was a first-round pick by the Dolphins in the 2020 NFL draft. Tua led the NFL in passing yards this season with 4,624. In 17 games, he completed 388 passes with 29 passing touchdowns and had a 101.1 passer rating. He was the first Dolphins quarterback to finish as the league leader in passing yards since Dan Marino led the NFL with 4,116 passing yards in 1992. 

“On behalf of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Board of Directors, we congratulate Tua on a historic season,” said Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman Jesse Sapolu. “He is a tremendous role model and a source of great pride for Polynesians everywhere.”

Mike Iupati was selected as the inaugural recipient of the award in 2015; Philadelphia Eagles QB Marcus Mariota received the award in 2016; New England Patriots WR JuJu Smith-Schuster received the award in 2017 & 2018; Baltimore Ravens OT Ronnie Stanley received the award in 2019; Indianapolis Colts DL DeForest Buckner received the award in 2021; and San Francisco 49ers S Talanoa Hufanga won the award along with Tua in 2022. 

The formal presentation of the Award will be held at the 2024 Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Celebration Dinner (January 20, 2024), along with being recognized during the 2024 Polynesian Bowl (January 19, 2024). 

The Polynesian Pro Football Player of the Year Award was voted on by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which includes former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Jack "The Throwin' Samoan" Thompson (Chairman), Coaches Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Olin Kreutz, Inaugural Inductee and past NFLPA president Kevin Mawae, former NFL Player and Class of 2015 Inductee Ray Schoenke, former ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, and NFL Network Chief National Reporter Steve Wyche.  

About the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame: The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches, and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma`a Tanuvasa. There are currently 44 inductees. For more information, visit

 About the Polynesian Bowl: The Polynesian Bowl is a premier all-star game played annually in Honolulu, Hawai`i that features 100 of the nation’s top ranked high school seniors of Polynesian and non-Polynesian ancestry alike – many of whom have gone on to play in the NFL. Past MVPs include AJ Epenesa, Puka Nacua, Travis Hunter, and Nico Iamaleava. The game is broadcast live and in primetime on NFL Network. For more information, visit