View Now

Polynesian High School Football Player Of The Year Watch List Announced

Honolulu, HI (August 2, 2018) – The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today the 2018 Watch List for the Polynesian High School Football Player of the Year Award. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding senior high school football player of Polynesian ancestry. The Watch List is composed of 45 players from 31 different high schools.

USC freshman Talanoa Hufanga of Crescent Valley High School (Corvallis, OR) was selected as the inaugural recipient of the award in 2017.

“This award showcases the immense talent of our Polynesian student-athletes.” said Jesse Sapolu, Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman, Co-Founder and Inductee. “Football for Polynesians is a way of life and an opportunity to advance their educational pursuits through a college scholarship.”

Five finalists will be unveiled on December 11, 2018.  The winner will be announced on January 18, 2019 during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Celebration Dinner (Sheraton Waikiki) and will also be recognized at halftime of the Polynesian Bowl at Aloha Stadium.


About the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame: The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center (Oʻahu) and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma’a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno Mahe.

About the Polynesian Bowl: “Where the world’s top high school football players gather to celebrate culture and play the game they love.” Our outstanding partners… BSN Sports, Friends of Hawaiʻi Charities, Hawaiian Airlines, Hawaiʻi Building & Construction Trades Council, Hawaiʻi News Now, Hawaiʻi Tourism Authority, Motiv8 Foundation, NIKE, Sheraton Princess Kaʻiulani Hotel and Riddell.